Athletics 2011-2012



The East Munster Boys Track and Field Championships took place in Waterford on Wednesday 9th May 2012.  The team had a number of medal winners on the day including the Senior Relay team of Steve McMahon, Alex Lynch, Simon Brennan and Sonny Dwyer (silver); the Intermediate Relay team of Lee Molloy, Ian O’Reilly, Eire McCarthy and Simon Lowry (bronze); Robert Kennedy in the Minor 800m (silver), Liam Fahey (silver) and Sean McNulty (bronze) in the Intermediate Shot; Andrew O’Brien in the Intermediate 800m (silver); Mateusz Czerniak (Senior Shot);  Mark Collins in the Minor 800m (bronze); Simon Brennan in the Senior 100m (bronze) and Sonny Dwyer in the Senior 200m (bronze).  The Munster Championships take place on the 19th May.


The Tipperary Track & Field Championships took place at Templemore Athletic Arena on a cold, wet, windy Wednesday 25th April.  Rockwell had 50 competitors and several medal winners.  Amongst the medal-winners were the Senior Boys’ Relay Team (gold), the Intermediate Boys’ Relay Team (bronze), the Intermediate Girls’ Relay Team, the Junior Boys’ Relay Team (bronze), as well as a number of individual winners.  Sean McCarthy (Senior Shot), Sean McNulty (Intermediate Shot), and Andrew O’Brien (Junior 400m) won gold; Liam Fahey (Inermediate Shot), and Steve McMahon (Senior Long Jump) won silver; Conor Cashman (Junior 100m), Simon Lowry (Intermediate 100m), and Sonny Dwyer (Senior 100 and Long Jump) won bronze.

The South Tipperary Track and Field Competitions took place in Clonmel on 22nd March.  Essentially a team competition, Rockwell entered a team in the First Year Boys’ Competitions.  The team of 8 finished second overall.  Team:  Cian Brannigan, Joey Noonan, Cillian English, Robert Kennedy, Conor Gleeson, Brian Fitzpatrick, Jamie Stone and Oisin BennettEilish Kennedy, Aoife O’Shaughnessy and Lorraine Doyle won medals in girls’ individual competitions.



© Rockwell College 2008   Policy