Home Board/Day News
T.Y. Contact Applying
Index Sports Parents.

Hurling/Gaelic 2017-2018

Munster U15 Football Q/F Played Tues 7th

Rockwell 3-15 Roscarbery 3-10

R Collins 0-3, P Mc Garry 1-7, N Maher 2-0, J French 0-3, B Gleeson 0-1, H Buttimer 0-1

Date Team Opposition Score Rockwell Scorers
11Oct Senior Blitz Cahir 3-4 0-6

E.Burke 1-1;C.O'Brien 1-1;C.McKenna 1-0;J.O'Dwyer 0-1; S.O'Connor 0-1

11Oct Senior FB Blitz St Ailbes 6-8 1-1 S.O'Connor 3-0;E.Burke 1-1;C.O'Brien 1-1;E.Heffernan 1-1;J.Lowe 0-3; D.Kelly 0-1;S.Maher 01
10Oct U16 1/2 Hurling SMI Newcastle West 1-8 6-12  
29Sept U15 Boys F/Ball Tramore 5-7 3-12  

Munster Senior D Ladies football C’ship

Rockwell 4-14 Kilmacthomas Waterford 5-2

Played in Bansha on Friday, 13th. October, Rockwell continued their winning way in the group stages of the Senior D PPS Competition. Kilmacthomas opened the scoring in the opening minute through a well taken goal by their industrious full forward. Playing with a strong wind Rockwell, however, dominated the following 20 minutes, scoring 2-8 without reply. Two quick goals from the indomitable Kilmacthomas full forward brought them back into the game. Kilmac. continued to assert themselves and added a further 1-1 to Rockwell's 3 points to leave the halftime score 2-11 to 4-1 in favour of Rockwell.

The second half was a tense affair as Rockwell sough to assert themselves but a resolute Kilmac. backline kept them at bay. The effort told on them towards the final stages of the game as Rockwell finished strongly, adding 2-1 in the final 5 minutes to see them through. They now have one final group match against neighbours, Fethard, in November. Best for Rockwell on the day were Andrea Stock at centre back, Moya Whelan at mid-field, Laura Stocksborough , Siobhan Whelan, Claire Hickey and Lucy Holohan.

Team: E. Magan, S. Whelan, C. Hickey (0-2) ,A. O’Connor, E. Walsh, M. Whelan (0-4), A. Stock, O. Noonan, F. Dowling, E. O’Sullivan, L. Holohan (0-6), L. Mc.Garry, L. Stocksborough, Z. Stokes, N. Kennedy, L. Murphy, P. Harold Barry, K. Bennett (0-1), K. Drohan, A. Marnane. Scorers; Laura Stocksborough (2-1), Moya Whelan (1-0), Lucy Holohan 91-0), Ellie O'Sullivan and Philippa Harold-Barry (0-1). Their next game will be against Kilmacthomas in the coming weeks. Going on their second half performance, they will once again a match for their opponents in the group stages.

Munster Senior D Ladies football c’ship

Rockwell 4-12 Meanscoil Rinne Waterford 3-11

On Wed 4th Oct the defending champions, Rockwell, travelled to Rinn outside of Dungarvan, to play Meánscoil Rinne in the Senior D PPS Competition. The conditions were far from ideal for the game with a strong wind blowing down the hill making for a contest, that was most certainly, a game of two halves.

The Rockwell captain, Kate Barlow, lost the toss and Rockwell had to play up the hill and against a very strong wind in the first half. The Gaeltacht natives definitely had the better start to the opening half with the Rockwell girls only managing 4 points to the opposition’s 2-5 by half time.

The 8 point deficit seemed insurmountable, particularly when Rinn got off to a rapid second half start, scoring 1-1 without reply. However, Rockwell seemed to compose themselves and dug deep. Goals from Moya Whelan, Laura Stocksborough (2-0) and Kate Barlow saw the Rockwell girls claw back to level the game, and with 7 minutes left, we were in for a thrilling finish. The Rockwell girls battled right until the very end to emerge victorious by 4 pts. There were some solid performances all over the field but in particular from their captain, Kate Barlow, Andrea Stock, Moya Whelan, Laura Stocksborough and Lucy Holohan.

Team: O. Cashman, S. Whelan, C. Hickey ,A. O’Connor, E. Walsh, M. Whelan, A. Stock, O. Noonan, K .Barlow (capt.), F. Dowling, E. O’Sullivan, L. Holohan, L. Mc.Garry, L. Stocksborough, Z. Stokes, N. Kennedy,N. O’Dwyer, P. Harold Barry, S. Mc.Grath, K. Bennett, E. Magan, K. Drohan. Scorers; Laura Stocksborough (1-6), Kate Barlow (1-4), Moya Whelan (1-0), Lucy Holohan 91-0) Ellie O'Sullivan and Philippa Harold-Barry (0-1). Their next game will be against Kilmacthomas in the coming weeks. Going on their second half performance, they will once again a match for their opponents in the group stages.


Munster U15 Football c’ship

Rockwell 5-7 Tramore 3-12

In an intriguing contest Rockwell survived this opening round to emerge by the slimmest of margins. They got off to a flying start in this U 15 championship first round, scoring 1-2 in the first three minutes. They settled much better and took the game to Tramore. Henry Buttimer won possession out on the wing and slipped through to score from a tight angle. Brian Gleeson added two further points, taking his chances very well. Then Tramore settled into the match and led by a point after thirteen minutes. Both sides exchanged goals; Rockwell’s coming from the boot of Jake French Davis. However, Tramore hit a purple patch and led by five points with two minutes to half time. In the dying stages of the first half Rockwell scored 1-1, the goal coming from Henry Buttimer with Jock Fogarty adding the point to leave the half time score Rockwell 3-4, Tramore 3-5 .

Henry Buttimer completed his hat trick in the first minute of the second half. Shortly after Rockwell had a goal disallowed for an ‘apparent’ square ball. Tramore responded with two points but another goal from the Rockwell full forward, Niall Maher saw them edge in front 5-4 to 3-7. Points from Rory Collins and Peter Mc. Garry stretched the Rockwell lead to five points. In a five minute spell Tramore scored four unanswered points. With five minutes remaining Peter Mc. Garry doubled the Rockwell lead. Rockwell now had to withstand serious Tramore pressure but managed to hold out for a single point win.

Rockwell: L. Cummins, E. Dunphy, S. Neville, Z. Lynch, T. Ross, C.J.Colemen, C. Hogan, R. Collins, P. Mc. Garry, D. Clarke, B. Gleeson, H. Buttimer, J. Fogarty, N .Maher, J. French Davis. Subs: T. Collier (Z. Lynch,inj.), R. O’Brien, C. Walsh, B. Farrelly, J. Lawrence, H. Fitzgerald, J .Cronin, J. Conroy, B. Smith, G. Devereux, E. Mc.Mahon.