Munster Junior Cup semi-final

Rockwell 14 Crescent College 13


Played in Thomond Park on Wednesday, this was very much a game which was influenced by a swirling wind. This was to affect both sides, but did not detract from the highly entertaining value from both sides playing some expansive rugby. Rockwell are now through to the Munster final for the first time in 22 years, where they will meet last year’s winners, St. Munchin's.

Rockwell went ahead through a Darius Achimugu try. Darius showed great acceleration to run on to a kick-through, and swept by attempted tackles to touch down. This was duly converted by Rory Collins just two minutes into the match. This seemed to have stung Crescent into action; they replied shortly afterwards when the Crescent full back, Conor O’Halloran, slotted over a penalty from just over 40 metres out. Crescent took the initiative, and, with Rockwell displaying a lot of nerves, pinned them back for the remainder of the first half. They capitalised on this pressure by scoring two unconverted tries, Joe Mc.Mahon scoring one and Conal Henchy the other, to leave them 13-7 up at half time.

The half-time talk seemed to have woken the Rockwell team up; they took the ball to the Crescent line on a number of occasions, only to be denied. Eventually, in the 46th. minute, following an infringement by Max Clein on the Crescent line, Henry Buttimer went over in front of the posts to touch down. Rory Collins added the extras to give Rockwell a slender 14-13 lead. The Rockwell pack managed to hold onto the ball to kill the game off; there was great relief when Rory Collins kicked the ball out of play following a turnover in stoppage time.

The Rockwell back row of Captain, Tom Downey, Brian Gleeson and Shane Neville laid the foundation to this victory with their numerous carries, ably assisted by hooker Cian Meaney. Henry Buttimer, partnered by Robert Wall in the centre made some serious tackles throughout, while they were also dominant in attack. Tom Ross displayed good hands at the base of the scrum; Conor Hogan, Eddie Dunphy, Rory Collins and Remi Ediale, until his untimely injury early in the second half, were also instrumental in defence.

Crescent College Comprehensive: Conor O’Halloran; Joseph McMahon, Daragh O Sullivan, Elvis Duruji, Brandon Nash; Werner Hoffman, Jamie Duggan; Max Duggan, Max Clein, Jack Madden; Ruadhan Quinn, Cian Kirby; John Lyons, Conor Clune, Conor Henchy. Subs: Lee O’Grady, Sean Farrell, Jack Neilon, Alan Kirby, Jonah Colgan, Sean Donnarumma, Cian O Halloran, Niall Roche, Jack Somers, Kallen McCarthy.

Rockwell College: Conor Hogan; Darius Achimugu, Robert Wall, Henry Buttimer, Ben Farrelly; Rory Collins, Tom Ross; Dean Moroney, Cian Meaney, Jamie Browne; Osereimen Ediale, Edmond Dunphy; Tom Downey, Shane Neville, Brian Gleeson. Subs: Joseph Lawrence, Lorcan Cummins, Tarcisio Chanda, Niall Maher, Casey Jay Coleman, Peter McGarry, Toby Collier, David Clarke, Zac Lynch, James Cronin.