Munster Senior Cup 2nd. Round

Rockwell College 24 Bandon Grammar 0

Rockwell College, by virtue of this emphatic victory against a resilient Bandon Grammar side, secured a quarter final joust against Crescent Comprehensive Limerick on February 12th. This Rockwell College side was quickly out of the blocks and just four minutes into the game some slick inter passing left winger, Tom Tobin through to touch down near the side-line. John O’Sullivan missed a difficult conversion against a strong swirling wind. Shortly afterwards Cathal Kelly scored 10 metres in from the side-line following some slick inter-play.. This time John O’Sullivan landed the conversion. Much as Bandon tried to mount attacks they were stemmed by a resolute and clinical Rockwell defence. Hooker, Dean Fanning, scored Rockwell’s third try in the corner ten minutes later, having powered his way over. This left the half time score 17-0 in favour of Rockwell.

Bandon Grammar restarted against the wind and from the kick off won possession. They battled their way forward only to be overturned on the Rockwell 22 by Cathal Kelly. Rockwell went downfield and with John O’Sullivan and Alan Flannery creating huge gaps in the Bandon backline winger Peter Wall sailed over near the corner flag. This was duly converted by John O’Sullivan. 20 minutes into the game Bandon went close and touched down only to have the try disallowed as the winger had stepped into touch. Rockwell emptied the bench with ten minutes to go and comfortably finished out the game. They are expecting a stern test against Crescent Comp in Thomond on the 12th. February (KO 3pm)

Bandon Grammar: Liam McCarthy; Eoin Nash, Nick Greene, Joshua D’Alton, David Collis; Louis Archer, Jack Kevane; Christopher Coomey, Harry Golden, Brian O’Donnell, Jack Walsh, Dirkjan Bakker, Ian Akabogu, Thomas Blennerhassett, Adam Murphy. Subs: Conor Aherne, Christopher Walton, Jack Applebe, Jerry Coughlan, Tom Good, David Hall, Niall Burke, Craig Bateman, Kyle Buttimer, Brian McSweeney.

Rockwell College: Joshua O’Dwyer; Peter Wall, Richard Anglim, Alan Flannery, Tom Tobin; John O’Sullivan, Adam Maher; Dylan Foley, Dean Fanning, Matthew Burke, Luke Fogarty, Brian O’Dea, Cathal Kelly, Sam Tarleton, Liam Shine. Subs: Cian Meaney, Jamie Browne, Jack Heffernan, Mikey Bergin, Kevin Grogan, Oisin Fagan, Darius Achimugu, Michael Mulligan, Henry Buttimer, Robert Wall.